Let’s Take a Look at Finnish Music

17 Jan

Time to promote some Finnish music, which is hardly known and largely under-appreciated.

Niillas Holmberg and Roope Mäenpää

The first artists are a folksy duo from Utsjoki and Tampere respectively. I first saw them at the ten year anniversary concert of the Sami Association in Oulu late last year and they blew my mind. They produced such soulful, beautiful music – it made one of my company cry. These talented guys have performed in various places around Finland and have created an excellent album – I think the best way to buy it is to enquire with them directly via MySpace or Facebook.

Here’s the video for ‘Muhto Don’:

Kuningasidea

This is Finnish reggae/ska at its finest. A great band who I stumbled upon, you can read about the experience here. In short I bumped into them at a bar, not knowing who they were, and they invited us to their gig – for free! They’re great guys and lots of fun to watch live!

Antti Tuisku

A pop idol winner this guy is your typical good looking, musically talented Finn. He’s a good, easy listen and I love his voice. This is one of my favourite songs of his.

Mokoma

A thrash metal band which formed in 1996 (can’t avoid metal music in Finland!) these guys are great to headbang too. Sporting long hair and beards they represent the core of Finnish metal (and about a third of the guys on campus!)

Listening to Finnish music is great when you’re learning the language because you get to hear it and practice your listening skills – put it on in the background and I bet you’ll pick things up without even realising. Once your Finnish improves it’s a great confidence booster to be able to recognise more and more words, try it!

Which is your favourite video?

7 Responses to “Let’s Take a Look at Finnish Music”

  1. F. Meingast January 18, 2013 at 1:06 am #

    Hello! You have a very beautiful blog and it’s lovely your initiative to share your own experiences and impressions with your readers! Yes, Finnish music is so wonderful and I consider myself a fan of it 🙂 Below there are a few links which I love and through them you can find a lot of another remarkable ones. Part of them I found by myself and part were presented to me by a Finnish friend… Hope you enjoy it!

    – Laura Närhi – Hetken tie on kevyt http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C0i1_PyfIkc
    – Jenni Vartiainen – Missä muruseni on http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EO0p_U1w89A
    – Jenni Vartiainen – Toinen http://youtu.be/eZIlRCNWZfc
    – Chisu – Sama nainen http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21d0935Wp7U
    – Chisu – Sabotage http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOsW6BHzrD8
    – Laura Närhi-Tämä on totta http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osbJqFTz7Bk

    All the best,
    F.

    • saramay91 January 18, 2013 at 1:09 am #

      That is really very kind of you to say, thank you so much! I’m very glad that you enjoy it =)
      And a huge thank you for all the wonderful links – it’s great to share music and I’m grateful for it. I’m just on my way to bed but I will check them out tomorrow and let you know what I think =D

      • F. Meingast January 18, 2013 at 2:02 am #

        Oh, you’re welcome! I’m also glad you appreciated to receive these links 🙂 It’s a true pleasure to learn and share about the Nordic culture and life aspects! 🙂 – Flávio.

    • saramay91 January 19, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

      @ F.Meingast – Yes, I love to share music, and it’s especially nice to be able to share Finnish music because I’m still relatively new to it.
      Laura Närhi has a really beautiful voice and I love the first one. Jenni is also really good, slightly different which I like. I think I came across Chisu in class – but they’ve all been added to the playlist =)

  2. sethsnap January 18, 2013 at 8:08 am #

    I like the first one a lot.

    • saramay91 January 19, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

      @sethsnap – I’m glad that you like it! There’s not much on youtube but it’s worth watching the ones that are there =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sahti – My Search for Traditional Finnish Beer – WanderingJustin.com - April 10, 2013

    […] Let’s Take a Look at Finnish Music […]

Leave a Reply

