Hello Oulu!

12 Jan

I’m back in Oulu after a long break in the UK, and from blogging. Woops, lazy me! I got caught in a little bubble there and spent the last ten days soaking up as much time with my boyfriend as possible. Leaving him for five months was so hard!

Here’s a quick recap of my experience in Oulu and Finland so far:

  • Moving to Finland – something that I never thought I would do, and right up until my departure I wasn’t sure that I could do!
  • Cycling to Hailuoto Island – One of the longest and craziest bike journeys that I’ve participated in! It led to me making a lifelong friend and seeing one of the most beautiful places in Northern Finland.
  • Getting to Know The University – and the different customs, habits and procedures. I really like it here and feel very comfortable at the university. As an exchange student I’m also really grateful for the level of support that I’ve received here.
  • Study Trips – I’ve seen Oulanka and Norwegian and Finnish Lapland, and for free! Thanks to my department for arranging these!
  • Exploring the Capital – on two trips with two groups of friends, I fell in love with the city and had a blast walking its streets and visiting the museums.

Hope you all had a great New Year! Let’s see what 2013 brings =)

2 Responses to “Hello Oulu!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Natural Oulu vs Industrial Oulu « Finland and Back - February 16, 2013

    […] Hello Oulu! (finlandandback.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Web Camera Oulu, Tuiran sillat, Finland | Live view of the world now - February 23, 2013

    […] Hello Oulu! (finlandandback.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

