From Oulu To England

30 Dec

I’m back for the Christmas/New Year period and enjoying the hot weather (in comparison to Finland!) and the British rain. Of which there has been a LOT. Many people have experienced flood related problems over the last few weeks and it looks like it will take a while for the water to drain.

Anyway, I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas. I certainly did – I ate many mince pies and drank much mulled wine. Sara heaven.

Before I left Finland my boyfriend came to visit for a few days and I showed him around Oulu. The first day we went to the city centre and saw ‘The Hobbit’ at Finnkino. I love the cinema for its cosy seats, warm theatres and pick and mix sweets. We went for a Finnish lunch on campus – meat, potatoes and salad, mmm – and then to a bar in the evening in Kaijonharju.

IMGP0036The rivers have all frozen over

The next day we took a trip to Rovaniemi and went husky sledding – that was my favourite part! It was freezing cold and so scary when we went over the frozen lake, but we enjoyed it so much that we were giggling for most of the trip. The husky dogs were so clever and so cute! We finished the day with a hot chocolate (adult style with liquor in it) and walked around the Santa Claus Village admiring the Christmas lights.

IMGP0057 IMGP0053 IMGP0044 IMGP0066 IMGP0070

On our last day we went and walked on the frozen lake next to the university, then headed back into town for a last shop for Christmas presents, took a photo with the toripolisi and went to the pancake house for our last meal. The next day we flew from Oulu to Helsinki and back to London, where we parted ways.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Being back in England has made me realise the beauty of our countryside and the green really stands out for me at the moment. It’s much more crowded though and it took a few days to get used to that. But it is nice to be back for a while.

Here are a couple of photos of my home county Dorset.

IMG_0038 IMG_0041 IMG_0049 IMG_0051

I’m afraid that’s it for me until next year! I’m off to my university town for a few days and then back to Oulu. Happy New Year Everyone!

One Response to “From Oulu To England”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s Wrong With Finland? « Finland and Back - January 15, 2013

    […] or skiing, depending on the season, and plenty of chances to see the local wildlife. There’s Rovaniemi and the Santa Claus village (best visited in December) where there’s plenty […]

Leave a Reply

