Helsinki Cathedral

16 Nov

This was the first ‘attraction’ that I visited when I reached Helsinki. The sun was shining and there wasn’t a single cloud in the sky as I rocked up to the cathedral, ready to begin my sightseeing.

It’s an impressive building to come across, particularly so with it’s bright, white exterior contrasted against the brilliant blue of the sky. I was impressed the by size of it, and the wonderful condition that it’s in.

The Cathedral was completed in 1852 and sits in the Senate Square, the power base of Helsinki, which also holds the university building and the offices of the Prime Minister and cabinet of Finland.

 

It was built to resemble to architecture of St. Petersburg – I’ve never been, so I couldn’t comment, but it’s a beautiful building and an impressive feat for the time. How they managed to create such incredible architecture without modern tools never ceases to amaze me.

The place was filled with tourists but it wasn’t super busy, and when we got inside people were respectful of the request for silence. The interior was simple but stunning, and I spent a long time taking it all in whilst sat on one of the pews.

 

 

When going to Helsinki the cathedral is definitely worth a visit, but don’t worry about leaving too much time to do so – we were done in half an hour or so. It’s an impressive building though and, if you’re like me and enjoy churches, don’t leave it off your list!

 

6 Responses to “Helsinki Cathedral”

  1. markdanielgonzales November 16, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Reblogged this on The White Tiger's Page.

    • saramay91 November 22, 2012 at 9:33 am #

      Thanks so much for this! =)

  2. Hitch-Hikers' Handbook November 16, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    Lovely photos!
    If you like photography, we’d like to invite you to participate in our next Travel Photography Competition. Here are the details:
    http://hitchhikershandbook.com/your-contributions/travel-photography/
    Happy travels!

    • saramay91 November 18, 2012 at 2:10 am #

      Hey, thanks!

      It’s nice of you to send me this – I don’t think my pictures are good enough at all but I’ve enjoyed seeing the work of other people =) Maybe next time I get that perfect shot I’ll send it your way.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Debra Kolkka November 19, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    It is a beautiful church, I stop to look each time I go to Helsinki.

    • saramay91 November 19, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

      I think that I will end up doing the same =)

Leave a Reply

