58: Oulun Yliopisto

28 Oct

I haven’t posted many pictures of the campus, and none of the interior, so I’m using that as an excuse to put my essays aside for a little while.

Oulu University website tells me that it was founded in 1958 and currently has around 15, 500 students. There are 400 incoming exchange students and 350 outgoing, which is a lot! during orientation they said that this year was the most international students that they’d ever had.

 

 

These are dotted all about the campus – you can leave your coat, free of charge, for the day. It’s a great idea, but I admit I haven’t been brave enough to do it yet, in case my coat gets accidentally  picked up by someone else! (this happened to a friend of mine last week, he got it back eventually though!)

 

This is the are next to the main restaurant, it’s a handy place to meet people. The grey screen is a touch screen device which shows you what’s going on in the city in the week.

 

Most of the signs have Finnish and English ^^

 

Chess, anyone?

 

This place does the best coffee (in my opinion) but don’t go there at lunch, it’s manic!

 

Coat racks and day lockers.

 

Pegasus library

 

Cute, aren’t they? I’d love one for my bedroom.

Pegasus library has three floors, computers rooms, study desks, silent study areas, a reading room and…

 

… this little gem. All the free newspapers and magazines you could want to read. Brilliant!

As campuses go, this one is pretty nice. And it’s all connected, so once you’re inside you don’t need to go back out to get to another class =)

Hope everyone has had/is having a nice weekend!

 

 

2 Responses to “58: Oulun Yliopisto”

  1. Katariina Partala November 1, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    One of my favourite libraries!! I miss that place soooo much.. I always used to do my homework there 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello Oulu! « Finland and Back - January 12, 2013

    […] Getting to Know The University – and the different customs, habits and procedures. I really like it here and feel very comfortable at the university. As an exchange student I’m also really grateful for the level of support that I’ve received here. […]

Leave a Reply

