Ten Strange and Interesting Facts About Finland

19 Jan

While doing some research I stumbled across this great article that I’d never seen before – I thought I had read everything Finland-related in the internet! I also didn’t know about number one or number three – and I have had a Finnish guy ask for a bottle opener once outside a club, but we didn’t have one so he used the metal pole of the rope barrier instead! Clever.

From that article it links to another one about Finnish ingenuity and it’s worth a read so I’m linking it here too.

I took advantage of another bright day and went for a short walk around the neighbourhood – it was wonderful to be out in the sun listening to the birds sing and admiring the way the sun fell on the snow.

IMG_0187

IMG_0188

IMG_0190

I have been lucky enough to receive yet more followers to my blog and I have now reached the 1,000 views mark, thanks everyone for your kindness and support! Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

 

4 Responses to “Ten Strange and Interesting Facts About Finland”

  1. Debra Kolkka January 22, 2013 at 9:41 am #

    We loved Oulu when we were there a few years ago. I was just in Heksinki on the weekend, for some very cold weather. The city looked beautiful covered in snow, so I could forgive it for the cold.
    Have a great time in Finland.

    • saramay91 January 27, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      It’s an easy city to love – do you mind me asking if you visited in summer or winter? I love your Helsinki pictures, they’re always beautiful =)
      Thanks for stopping by, I hope you get to visit Finland again soon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sahti – My Search for Traditional Finnish Beer – WanderingJustin.com - January 31, 2013

    […] Ten Strange and Interesting Facts About Finland […]

  2. Finland, Cultural Lone Wolf by Richard D. Lewis « Rafferty's Rules - February 19, 2013

    […] Ten Strange and Interesting Facts About Finland (finlandandback.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment